How To Delete Your Discord Account

Discord is an online social platform built by gamers, for gamers. As such, it comes with a plethora of features and tools that help players do what they do best. However, if you’ve tired of discord, you don’t like their privacy policies, or you’re just looking to start over, you might end up just wanting to delete your account.

Fortunately, this is possible, and somewhat easy, too. Discord makes deleting your account for good permanent and simple. However, there are several things you need to do first.

What Is Discord?

Discord is a robust social media and communication app that’s designed around gaming. The program started as a simple chatroom program like Ventrilo and Teamspeak, but now, it’s grown into a hybrid social-media-streaming-messaging-talking app. It can also support video calls and screen sharing.

Many gamers build their communities around Discord. The basic Discord program is entirely free to use. The platform uses servers to create media walls, voice channels where members can speak with each other, and text channels where members can post pictures and make text posts. Friends and strangers alike can also send private messages and initiate video and chat calls.

Nowadays, Discord is widely regarded as the best communication platform for gamers because of its free model, its performance, and its robust functions.

Discord

Deleting Your Discord Account

Before you cancel your discord account, there are a few extra things you need to do to make sure the process happens smoothly. If you own any servers, for example, you will need to do one of two things: Either transfer the ownership of the server to someone else or delete the entire server. If you try to delete your account without first doing this step, it won’t work!

Once you’ve taken care of your servers, click on the gear on the lower right-hand corner of your discord screen (if you’re using the desktop app). This will take you to the User Settings.

Deleting Discord Account

From there, Discord should open the My Account screen automatically. If it doesn’t, select My Account from the menu on the left. Next, click the Edit button. From there, you’ll see a red button that says Delete Account. Alternatively, you can just disable your account if you don’t want it gone forever.

Discord Account

Before Discord lets you delete your account, it’ll prompt you to enter your password.

Delete Discord Account

Once you enter your password, your account will be gone for good! You can always create a new Discord account, however.

You Might Also Be Interested In These