Marvel Ultimate Alliance Games In Order

Ultimate Alliance is one of the pioneers of modern superhero games. Learn more about the series’ timeline with this list of Marvel: Ultimate Alliance games in order.

When looking at a list of Marvel: Ultimate Alliance Games in order, it becomes clear just how ahead of its time this game was during the mid to late 2000s.

Spanning three games, the third of which is quite far removed from the other two, Ultimate Alliance is one of the best Marvel game series ever created.

To prove it, we’ve compiled a list of all Marvel: Ultimate Alliance games in order to show how the series’ brief yet impactful run is still shaping the best superhero games today.

We hope you enjoy the nostalgia trip!

Related:Best Games Like Marvel’s Spider-ManMarvel vs. Capcom Games In OrderLongest Running Video Game Franchises

Table of ContentsShow

Published by Activision and developed by Raven Software with help from other studios, Marvel: Ultimate Alliance combines action RPG dungeon-crawling with iconic Marvel characters.

Operating separate from the comics, it features an original story in which the heroes of the Marvel Universe join forces to stop Doctor Doom and his Masters of Evil from world domination.

Gameplay is modeled after games like Diablo, and shares many similarities with previous Raven Software games such as X-Men Legends and X-Men Legends II: Rise of Apocalypse.

Following its release, Ultimate Alliance became critically acclaimed and is fondly remembered for its simple-yet-engaging gameplay and extensive roster of Marvel characters.

Three years later, the original Ultimate Alliance would receive a follow-up with Marvel: Ultimate Alliance 2, a sequel developed by Vicarious Visions and a handful of other developers.

In contrast to the first game, UA2 is heavily based on the Secret War and Civil War storylines from the comics, in which the US government passes an act to regulate superhero activities.

With the crime-fighting community divided, players must pick between one of two factions comprised of Marvel heroes, with some overlap between the two during the story.

While the game was praised for its branching narrative, writing, replay value, and expanded roster, some critics took issue with missing elements from the original.

About a decade would pass before the release of Marvel Ultimate Alliance 3: The Black Order, the third mainline entry which reboots the Ultimate Alliance series as a Nintendo Switch exclusive.

Developed by Team Ninja and published by Nintendo rather than Activision, it follows a new team of superheroes working together to stop Thanos and the Black Order from finding the Infinity Stones.

Gameplay maintains the top-down dungeon-crawling gameplay of its predecessors while placing a bigger emphasis on co-op and synergized attacks between teammates.

Upon release, The Black Order received mixed reviews as most critics found the gameplay and story entertaining but felt it failed to improve over previous entries.

Released shortly after the base game, The Black Order Expansion Pass adds new DLC content for Marvel: Ultimate Alliance 3.

Presented as a Season Pass, it features multiple character packs based on different Marvel comic properties such as Marvel Knights, X-Men, and the Fantastic Four.

As a bonus for purchasing the expansion, players can unlock the character Deadpool earlier in the story with his alternate Chef Deadpool costume.

You Will Love These Too

Fire Emblem Games In Order
Fire Emblem Games In Order
Justin Fernandez

As a fan of both indie and triple-A games, Justin finds joy in discovering and sharing hidden gems with other passionate gamers. In addition to reporting on the latest and greatest titles, he manages GamingScan’s social media channels.

More About Justin Fernandez